- - - - -

Need Some Mech Advice

11 replies to this topic

#1 Dekallis

• PipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 56 posts

Posted 13 February 2016 - 08:12 PM

I'm a veteran of previous mechwarrior games I've at least played every MW from the original up to 4 and it's expansions.(And own all but MW3)

So coming in I thought I knew what I wanted....I knew I wanted a MadCat/Timberwolf because....well...that probably doesn't need explaining the mech is just that good.

I was fairly sure I'd want a ryoken, but seeing the stormcrow I'm not so sure mainly because in MW4 it could mount JJ's and I loved hoping to try and pop open cockpits of taller mechs with a laser volley but this one can't mount any and my runs on the trial mech have left me less than impressed. So I'm looking at the Nova as a potential buy instead since it appears to have a similar profile and more beam points....and jump jets. But I'm not sure if it's the right mech to buy for a medium. I'm probably only going to run one maybe two medium mechs at most depending on if I find a light I really love, but usually i'm more comfy in mediums and heavies because I'm mostly a brawler at heart.

As far as lights go I got the kit fox and i'm ok with it still experimenting with loadouts, though had tons of fun with a mg/flamer build that jumpjets in behind people,shoots flames up their backsides, and runs away...or sticks if they're running only beams since they're probably going to overheat.(I basically use it as a 'beam hunter') Alternatively i've tried running missiles but...so far lrms seem like they're wet noodles compared to previous MW games and SRM's don't seem to pack as much punch...maybe it's just the lack of visual impact like mechs rocking when hit but it never feels like i'm doing much damage with them. So I ended up going large laser sniping when I'm not being a firefox.(I really have no idea what i'm doing with this mech i'm just screwing around and stuffs working presumably because i'm low tier.)