- - - - -

Another "what Mech Should I Get?" Post...

20 replies to this topic

#1 Hugh Chardon

• Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 22 February 2016 - 11:13 PM

I know this is mostly beaten to death in the forums, but I am admittedly too lazy to look up all the beatings...

I'm a newbie to the game. I've done the first 25 missions without spending anything, so I'm sitting on 20m c-bills, and I'm wondering how I should spend them on my own actual mechs (given that I'm not ready to drop actual cash into the game yet).

I'd like some advice about which mechs I should buy with my resources (again assuming that I'm a F2P player). I'm still not remotely familiar with the meta-game-play or even any game-play past "quick-play". I'll list some of my newbie observations and preferences, and, hopefully, someone more learned in this game can help me decide what actually matches my tastes.

The 3 mechs I've played the most thus far are Stormcrow, Hunchback, and Arctic Cheetah.

Here's my initial impressions of these mechs so far:

Stormcrow: Of the mechs I've played, I like this one the most, but the prices are obscene. I'm vaguely aware that I need to buy 3 of each type. I can almost afford 2 of these, but farming the c-bills for the 3rd seems huge to me at this point since I'm so crappy a pilot, I tend to make only 30k-60k a match. I really love its mobility, and I love that the default build is a laser-boat, but I have no idea if it's realistic to think that'll I'll grind enough c-bills in short order to "open" up the bonuses (which I'm still not actually sure "how they work"/"what they do").