Suggestion To Improve Quick Play

25 replies to this topic

#1 JonDunbar

• Pip
  • The Butcher
  • 10 posts

Posted 29 February 2016 - 09:48 PM

I've been playing the game for about 3 months now and I love it. The entertainment value/dollar for me is great.

My biggest complaint so far would have to be blindly choosing a variant/loadout prior to knowing where I will be fighting. Fortunately, I have a solution that I feel fits well with both the design of the game as well as the role playing aspect of flying into a combat zone.

The game already encourages players to own 3 variants of each chassis due to mech trees. With my idea one would have various loadouts built for different types of engagement, as most people already have. You would select your chassis (Timberwolf, Cheetah, etc) and enter Quick Play. Matchmaker will compile two teams and send you to map/game mode selection. After the map is selected and you go to drop ship prep you would then be able to choose which owned variant you want to bring to that particular map. Alpine Peaks? Then bring your ER loadout. Mining Collective? You might want jump jets. Terra Therma? Leave the dual PPCs at home.

It only makes sense that we would be properly equipped for combat on the planet to which we are flying.

Any thoughts?

#2 Troutmonkey

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Moderate Giver
  • Moderate Giver
  • 3,776 posts
  • LocationAdelaide, Australia

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:02 AM

Nope. Will lead to 1 map wonder builds where people bring hot mechs to cold maps because they know they can always get away with it. You can almost already do that now with map voting

#3 El Bandito

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Daddy
  • Big Daddy
  • 26,736 posts
  • LocationStill doing ungodly amount of damage, but with more accuracy.

Posted 01 March 2016 - 03:17 AM