12 replies to this topic

#1 Jaguaar

• PipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 37 posts
  • LocationNY

Posted 13 March 2016 - 03:12 PM

I am fairly new to MWO. (tried it when it first came out and didn't like it but started playing again 2 weeks ago and LOVE it now)
I am wondering what the benefit to joining a Clan (if I am saying it correctly) is?
I see many players with tags like guilds in GuildWars 2 when I run in QuickPlay. If someone could explain this for me it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks ahead of time for the information.

#2 Weyen

• Pip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 18 posts

Posted 13 March 2016 - 03:27 PM

View PostJaguaar, on 13 March 2016 - 03:12 PM, said:

I am wondering what the benefit to joining a Clan (if I am saying it correctly) is?

Usually people call them units in this game, "Clans" are usually a faction in Community Warfare (like Clan Wolf, Clan Ghost Bear, etc.) like the Great Houses.

As far as I know, the main benefit to joining a unit is just having a group of friends you can drop with. Especially for Community Warfare, there's a huge difference in play between dropping as a lone ("PUG") player and as a member of a coordinated group. I don't think you get extra money or experience or anything from it.

#3 p4r4g0n

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 1,511 posts
  • LocationMalaysia

Posted 13 March 2016 - 03:28 PM

Units have no function in Quick Play other than as identifiers. In Faction Play aka Community Warfare, units will have their Unit Tag placed on a planet if its members members contributed the most to its conquest. Currently, that is about it although changes may be introduced later as Faction Play is still being refined.

Benefits:

1) Being able to find a regular group to play with consistently in Public Group Queue or Faction Play rather than having to hop around looking for random strangers