Best Battletech Game: Mwo Vs Pokemon Go

15 replies to this topic

#1 EvilCow

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 2,236 posts

Posted 04 September 2016 - 10:32 AM

I started playing Pokemon Go early August, about the time I stopped playing MWO.

Once I understood the basics of the game I started comparing my experience with MWO and, funny enough, I liked Pokemon Go better than MWO as a Battletech Game.

Let me try to explain.

Lets assume that Mech=Pokemon and Planet=Gym.

Choice of Mechs

About the same, both MWO and Pokemon Go have plenty.

Customization

Here things are interesting, in MWO you just make the mechs you want as long you have enough MC, improving pokemechs requires resources hard to find. Only obtainable by exploring galaxy and getting salvage.

Scouting

Here Pokemon Go wins hands down, there is a definite role for scouts and it is not an easy task.

Exploration

The galaxy is huge and finding planets is hard in Pokemon Go, knowing defending forces requires a close planetary inspection. In MWO we have a map and no garrison concept.

Planetary Attack

This is quite nice in PG, you can assemble an attack force based on defending force, often the missions are asymmetric, you can attack greater forces for an attrition war or overwhelm a small garrison. You cannot sit on your hands too, often a retaliation is immediate. In MWO we have gates and LT.
Dropships and jumpships do exist in PG and each player is equipped with its own, you can choose between lots of brands and types.

Weapons and Damage Model

PG has 18 weapon classes each one with its strong sides and weaknesses. Each class has several attacks weapons in it. For each weapon there is a defensive counter, interesting.
MWO has become an attrition fight, you apply generic "damage" on the enemy mech and it spreads all over by design.

Fighting