Counter Attack Mode

13 replies to this topic

#1 Racerxintegra2k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The God
  • The God
  • 801 posts

Posted 17 September 2016 - 09:13 AM

Is it just me or does the prospect of getting the Counter Attack game in Faction play suck away any joy in playing faction play? I absolutely hate this game mode.
As an Inner Sphere pilot i'm maintaining a ~1.00 W/L in Attack and Defense. When it comes to Counter Attack i'm .17(17-135). I find that running through the funneled maps in faction play just means by the time you get into a position to mount any kind of attack you are already half blown away. You are then expected to destroy 12 fresh mechs and take out omega ... rinse and repeat. I'm not a great pilot but i feel i am average, which is a problem if an average or slightly below average pilot has ~10% hope of victory.

#2 El Bandito

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Big Daddy
  • Big Daddy
  • 26,736 posts
  • LocationStill doing ungodly amount of damage, but with more accuracy.

Posted 17 September 2016 - 09:21 AM

When you are attacking in Counter-Attack mode you absolutely will need a good drop caller. Otherwise it will be a bust most of the time, if two teams' skill level are the same.

This is one reason why players should be invading, instead of defending.

#3 crashlogic

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Mercenary
  • 318 posts

Posted 17 September 2016 - 10:00 AM

I'm not a fan of counterattack mode at all, from either side. But then I have a lot of issues with the way FW simply repeats the same tactical problem over and over.
That being said, El Bandito is right, in counter-attack the attackers must be very well coordinated.

#4 Racerxintegra2k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The God
  • The God
  • 801 posts

Posted 17 September 2016 - 10:51 AM