Do You Like The Old Mechlab Better?

8 replies to this topic

#1 razenWing

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Fearless
  • The Fearless
  • 1,694 posts

Posted 06 October 2016 - 12:54 PM

I've been watching old video from 2013. Well, I started playing with the current system, so I had no idea what it was like, but it seems to be like the old system is better in some ways.

Now, the current system gives a better "overall" view of what's going on with your mech, that's without a doubt. You also get to spin your mech around to see what it looks like, so I like that.

Now, because in the video, they don't actually spin the mech, so I have no idea if that's actually a thing. But the old system can highlight individual weapons/equipment based on body parts. That, I thought, was very VERY cool.

Which happens to be one of my biggest complaint about the current system, that during weapon group assignment, it doesn't highlight which weapon you are actually selecting. (in fact, you should get that in the weapon assignment tab too, so that you can put weapons into the desire slot that you want, easier)

I feel like, a combination of the new and old system would make the machlab absolutely perfect. I wonder why the old system was scrapped so completely without retaining the good aspects about it?

(is it another one of PGI's mapgate-esque moment? though I have to say, agin... bird's eye view of the mech loadout is a lot stronger in the new system... the color code system is perfect... but the inability to highlight... omg... bugs the crap out of me)

#2 Monkey Lover

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 7,918 posts
  • LocationWazan

Posted 06 October 2016 - 01:10 PM

It's much better than the wechlab we had in the middle there. The smurfy mechlab is quick and does a good job. I do agree the old mechlab let you interact more with you mech and was fun.

#3 Alistair Winter

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Storm
  • Storm