Armor

14 replies to this topic

#1 Bison LeHawk

Rookie

• Bad Company
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 12:08 PM

Hello.

I'm still new to this game and have picked up some good info here and there and kind of starting to get a hang of things I think.

I have a question regarding mech building as far as armor goes. I can't really seem to find any info on any kind or guideline. I'm curious as to the amounts of armor you should be putting on different areas and how much on the back versus the front etc.

Any kind of guiding principles you guys use?

Thanks in advance.

#2 TooDumbToQuit

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Death Wish
  • 1,539 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 12:15 PM

As players get better the amount on the back drops down. I do about 8-12, better players go down to even 5.

Which is one reason testing your weapons into the back of a teammate tends to piss people off.

#3 B L O O D W I T C H

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,426 posts

Posted 07 November 2016 - 12:19 PM

View PostBison LeHawk, on 07 November 2016 - 12:08 PM, said:

Hello.

I'm still new to this game and have picked up some good info here and there and kind of starting to get a hang of things I think.

I have a question regarding mech building as far as armor goes. I can't really seem to find any info on any kind or guideline. I'm curious as to the amounts of armor you should be putting on different areas and how much on the back versus the front etc.

Thanks in advance.

Vital armor always maxed out (that means all torso sections).
For lights, max out the legs as well.

For heavies and assaults, it is okay to shave off some armor from the legs to free a bit of tonnage.

Cockpit, no less then 16 points. Some special snowflake mechs (like the Shadowhawk, Hunchback, Battlemaster) need full 18 points. Some like Hellbringer, Atlas and some more can get away with virtually no cockpit armor.