My 3D Mech Models

9 replies to this topic

#1 Xazeroth

Rookie

• 8 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 02:34 AM

Greetings everyone Posted Image

My name is Kamil and I'm a 3D artist. I love hardsurface modelling so it was only a matter of time until I stumbled upon this website and this awesome game while I was searching the net for robot/android and mech concepts to get some inspiration.

To my amazement, it turned out that Piranha Games released their models' blueprints (ortho projections) which to a 3D hardsurface guy is like Christmas came earlier.

I've decided to model out a couple of their awesome mechs - tell me what you think.

Modelling the basic shapes took about 8 hours. Adding fine details took about 5-6. Shading will take more then that I think.

So here is my version of the Raven with some basic shaders on. (Mesh edges show slight wear n tear of the metal pieces - some adjustments need to be done here). Decals, grime and scratches next.

Posted Image

And here is the final render Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by Xazeroth, 27 November 2016 - 10:54 AM.

#2 Karl Streiger

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Wrath
  • Wrath
  • 20,369 posts
  • LocationBlack Dot in a Sea of Blue

Posted 22 November 2016 - 02:47 AM

interesting how close it come to the MWO Mech.

But there are some differences - would be great to place the MWO Raven next to your version (to use them is not very hard)

#3 Xazeroth

Rookie

• 8 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 02:58 AM

Karl: That's the plan. I just wanted a rough reference, so I looked up some images online as well as took a look at the ortho projections. I didn't really want to make an exact copy, there's no point in that + it's very difficult:)
Once I add the details in it will differ even more - that's the whole beauty of 3D modelling.

But yea, I think your idea is cool, I'll find an image of the Raven online, and I'll pose mine in a similar fashion for comparison Posted Image