- - - - -

New Pilot, Day 2. Need Advice.

35 replies to this topic

#1 Spiderz

• Pip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationQLD, Australia

Posted 12 December 2016 - 03:24 PM

So i started playing yesterday morning and today is a new day (8am currently in Australia) had plenty of games, i saved money using a WARHAWK WHK-C trial mech and eventually bought a TBR-S and fitted it with a "Gauss vomit" i found on meta mechs, so far i've got mixed feelings about it. On some of the more spacious snow maps i found myself using cover and ruining all the other players with my lasers and bullying them with my Gauss. One of my best matches i had mvp 750 damage, 4 kills and 4 assists. Although i'm quickly finding this gauss timberwolf doesn't have the maneuverability in brawling sized maps nor the best damage application on some of those lava maps. Sitting down yesterday i knew this battletech game would have a learning curve, specifically fitting them. Also i have a question about skills, it says i need all the basic efficiencies for 3 of this hull, does this then mean i need to buy 3 more timberwolves? my reason for doing this was i'm seeing "advanced zoom" under modules and the mastery says it's a module slot? i'm not entirely sure if i'm understanding this right but i'd like to use the zoom camera i'm seeing youtubers use.

So i haven't spent any money on this game yet, but i feel like doing so now. Really i'd like to use a mech that i can play as a survivalist. That is turtle, trade and repeat aggressively at medium and marksman ranges. This timberwolf i built was really meant to do this but seems map constrained. Suggestions welcome, after playing with it i understand the mechlab much better. Which mechs do the absolute most damage, even high risk? that's something else i'd be curious about.

~ Spider

#2 GenghisJr

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 278 posts
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 12 December 2016 - 03:57 PM