- - - - -

Drop Decks, New Skill Tree Uncertainty. (What's A New Player To Do?)

7 replies to this topic

#1 Spunkmaster

• PipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • 59 posts

Posted 27 January 2017 - 01:29 PM

Hi guys,

I've been playing MWO for a few months now, working my way to mid-tier 3 on PUG solo drops alone. Last night, I played a group drop and was invited to join a unit. This unit is allied with an IS house. My garage of 11 mechs feels Clan heavy.

Questions:

Are Meta Mech's Drop Ship Ladders still relevant/current?

Does anyone have an idea how the new skill tree system will effect builds, especially regarding CW/drop decks? I don't want to burn through my stash of C-Bills putting an IS drop deck(s) together only to have it be completely irrelevant in a month's time.

I'll wait until the end of next month to level any new mechs. This is what I've been doing since the new Skill Tree system was announced. I'll just let the XP accumulate.

My current IS mechs: CDA-3M (mastered); BJ-1DC, BJ-1X & BJ-2(L) (all mastered); CN9-A (basic); TDR-9S (basic). The CN9 & TDR have 60k+ XP waiting to be leveled.

I love the CDA & BJs but can't find mediums and heavies that feel/work as good for me as the HBK IIC, SCR & HBR. I also can't find a light as good as my ACH.

Two decks; one for hot map, one for cold?

Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

#2 Tier5 Kerensky

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 2,049 posts

Posted 27 January 2017 - 05:14 PM

I don't think the skill tree change is going to effect balance of mechs that much. If any at all.

Biggest change will be dropping the requirement of 3 variants to fully level a mech, and to make module boots permanent skills(as in quirks) tied to a particular mech.

#3 S 0 L E N Y A

• Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,031 posts
  • LocationWest Side

Posted 27 January 2017 - 05:48 PM

View PostTeer Kerensky, on 27 January 2017 - 05:14 PM, said: