What Exactly Did The Srm 4 Do?

230 replies to this topic

#1 R Valentine

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Heavy Lifter
  • Heavy Lifter
  • 1,743 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 05:32 AM

To deserve a nerf? As an IS pilot, I only use SRM 4 if I can fit at least 6 of them, and even then only if I'm taking another weapon as a finisher. The whole point of them is that they're just tight enough to not make Artemis mandatory, but not so tight as to be able to finish off a mech with SRM 4s alone. I'd almost always take 4 x ASRM 6 over 6 x SRM 4 if I could afford the weight, since 6 x ASRM 4 is way too heavy, but on some mechs that extra weight Artemis tags on to the SRM 6 pack gimps your ammo stores, hence the SRM 4 sans Artemis option. So which mechs were so OP with non-Artemis SRM 4s that caused it to get the nerf bat? Why take SRM 4 over SRM 6 + Artemis now? The spread nerf was pretty significant, so it's questionable if I can even get all missiles on target, let alone in the general area I point them at.

#2 TercieI

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Littlest Helper
  • Littlest Helper
  • 8,151 posts
  • LocationThe Far Country

Posted 21 March 2017 - 05:33 AM

It gave light mechs a non energy option.

Can't have effective light mechs.

#3 DrxAbstract

• The Butcher
  • The Butcher
  • 1,672 posts
  • LocationOutreach

Posted 21 March 2017 - 05:39 AM

View PostTercieI, on 21 March 2017 - 05:33 AM, said:

The Javelin isnt even out yet and it's getting SRMs nerfed.

#4 R Valentine

• Heavy Lifter
  • Heavy Lifter
  • 1,743 posts

Posted 21 March 2017 - 05:43 AM

View PostTercieI, on 21 March 2017 - 05:33 AM, said: