#1 Dragonscar

• PipPip
  • The Altruist
  • The Altruist
  • 24 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 26 June 2017 - 09:24 AM

Hello All,
Of course I am a newbie and trying to get my head around everything about this game, ( only played 6 matches so far ) but I do have a couple of questions

There does not seem to be a match making process for newbies ( Tier 5 ) folks??, the thing I noticed was I was using the " Trial Mechs " because I thought that was the process to follow but I was seeing ALOT of Mechs from the sale packages, Steam sales, etc

So is it just a free for all??, my little old Trial mechs did not last long at all...Haha
My record is 1 win / 5 losses so far and the only reason I got the one win is because my PUG team was pretty good

Do I just need to buy some better mechs then??

Thanks all :-)

#2 PaquIS

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts

Posted 26 June 2017 - 09:38 AM

Play 25 games and make sure to complete the tutorial and you will have enough cbills to buy any mech you want. However I would advice to stay away from lights and assaults for now until you learn the game little better.

Now I haven't checked what the current trials are, but usually there is several good ones with good builds. So just keep playing different ones. None of them has any skill points so all of them will be better once fully mastered.

#3 Kaethir

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 236 posts
  • LocationLouisville, KY, USA

Posted 26 June 2017 - 09:52 AM

To address your first question a little more directly... there is a matchmaker, which, when active, attempts to match tier 5 players primarily against other lower tier players. However, during low population times (which is a lot, lately) the matchmaker is not active (and it is never active if you are queuing in a group).