Mech Advice

17 replies to this topic

#1 Hrothgar02

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 February 2018 - 05:24 PM

Ok so I'm new to mwo and I'm looking to buy my first mech. I like haveing long range and I love the gauss rifle. I don't want to call it sniping because you can't really get a kill with 1 shot. To me it's more like artillery support. So my question is what mech would be good for artillery suppor ?

#2 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 10 February 2018 - 06:59 PM

View PostHrothgar02, on 10 February 2018 - 05:24 PM, said:

Ok so I'm new to mwo and I'm looking to buy my first mech. I like haveing long range and I love the gauss rifle. I don't want to call it sniping because you can't really get a kill with 1 shot. To me it's more like artillery support. So my question is what mech would be good for artillery suppor ?

You can, but at the moment the best way to do that is with a pair of Heavy Gauss... and it has to be kinda close up..

Figure we might call it direct fire support. (There are Mech Mortars in the source material but such hasn't made it into MWO yet. Though we are in the time period where they get popular again...)

There's a number of mechs that can fulfill this role. The requirements are basically ballistic hardpoints and enough weight to make it effective. For the energy equivalent, energy hardpoints and while the weight requirements are somewhat lighter, enough cooling power to make it effective and in both cases the positioning of the hardpoints need to be fairly high up.

On the IS side, you're looking at:
Light: Urbanmech. Raven (4X for Gauss, 2X or 3L for PPC). Jenner (for PPC). Panther / Wolfhound (for quirk-based advantages in this run).