Stuttering In All Maps With High-End Pc (Dx11)

6 replies to this topic

#1 Deil

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 16 May 2018 - 10:02 AM

Hi All,

I recently started playing again thanks to Solaris7 (side note, great expansion!).

Based on my specs (and my experience playing 2-3 years ago on a much worse computer) I should be able to cream this game, and it runs great (100+ fps all settings maxed) most of the time, but I get some major stutters/stalls both when dropping out of dropships, and a couple times throughout each match.

My game settings are maxed @1440p 90hz, lowering does not seem to help (raises my average framerate but does nothing to stop the drops) - I am using Dx11, have not tried Dx9 yet (is there a major visual downgrade? Im willing to try but most posts im seeing are saying Dx9 doesnt fix performance anymore).

I have about 2 dozen AAA games installed on my machine that run perfectly smooth, so while I hate the "its not my PC" argument, I've done all I can to rule it out as the culprit.

PC/OS Specs:
i7 6700k @ 4.4ghz with aio watercooler
32gb 3200mhz CL16 DDR4
MSI 1080ti with aio watercooler
480gb sandisk ultra ii (OS)
480gb Samsung PM971
1tb 850 evo m.2 (MWO install drive)
4tb WD Black
Windows 10 build 1803 (issue also present on build 1709)
Nvidia driver 397.64 (issue also present on previous revision)

I hope someone can offer some help! The game runs great and I'm having a ton of fun being back, but the big stutters/momentary freezes in action have been annoying, and I feel like with the specs above I should be able to play pretty stutter free!

Edit extra info: Running in "real" fullscreen mode with either discord or discord + a browser tab to facebook in background, nothing else. Facebook being open or closed does not seem to help. Vsync is also off.

Edited by Deil, 16 May 2018 - 11:15 AM.

#2 BTGbullseye

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Solitary
  • The Solitary
  • 1,540 posts
  • LocationI'm still pissed about ATMs having a minimum range.