Bas Rancor

9 replies to this topic

#1 Lead Storm Hero

• Pip
  • The Fang
  • 12 posts

Posted 17 May 2018 - 09:02 AM

Hey everyone!

So I recently got the BAS and Rancor and I am new to clan mechs. My question is about the hero mech. He does not feel or seem unique in any way. Is this typical? I know if you have all the pods it receives some minor quirks... but not enough to seem to matter much. The basic variants seem to have better abilities all around like ECM and JJ while the Rancor has Las/Mis ST mounts. I find this mech best with gauss. So is the only thing that makes the rancor Variant special is the 30% C Bill boost? It appears to be designed for CERHeavyLas spam. I just find myself wanting to put gauss on top and 6ERMeds on the arms but then you lose the CT Missile and ECM. So in other words it seems... limited at best and I see no point in using it since its CT isn't special at all.

Can someone please clarify why you would want to use the Rancor over the ECM or Missile variant CT? Clan mechs just seem confusing.

#2 FireStoat

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Tracker
  • The Tracker
  • 1,053 posts

Posted 17 May 2018 - 09:13 AM

Sure. In regards to an ECM CT chassis variant, ECM has fallen greatly out of favor in the current game due to a couple of factors. Useful ECM requires a substantial Sensory skill tree investment that no one really wants to make anymore in light of much better options for skill points in the trees. People with decent skill simply use cover versus missiles, and/or take an AMS on the weekends for the event madness. A one ton laser AMS or 1.5 ton standard is a better bargain over investing 17 points or more into the Sensory tree.