Recomended Assaults

6 replies to this topic

#1 Sikasulia

Rookie

• Hell Fork
  • Hell Fork
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 01:46 PM

With the sale currently going on i have decided to pick up 5 assaults for general play, i currently have one assault-a mauler knockout. My general playstyle is aggressive-constantly pushing even though i find myself out of position due to that aggressiveness. I do not like playing lrn boats, the one's i'm successful with i treat the lrm's as gap closers until i am in position for other weapons. I am not good with gauss rifles preferring other ballistics.

I am leaning towards the Highlander 732B and 733, the Stalker 3FB, the Battlemaster 3S, and the Awesome 8T. Are there any others out of the ones on sale that i should consider?

#2 Sikasulia

Rookie

• Hell Fork
  • Hell Fork
  • 2 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 04:40 PM

As you can see, I am looking at Inner Sphere mechs. For clan mechs I would pick up either the Marauder IIC pack or Mad Cat Mark II pack.

#3 Eisenhorne

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 2,111 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY

Posted 11 August 2018 - 05:43 PM

Best ones on the sale are:

VTR9A1 - very versatile ballistic boat, can do 3x lbx10, 3x ac10, 2x hgr, 2x uac10 / uac5, and a few others.

VTR9S - great brawler, 3x ASRM6 and an AC20. Can't do much else, but it does that quite well.

BLR-1G - best inner sphere ER laser boat, 5 erll plus tcomp, or 6 erll, both are good.

AWS-8R - very good inner sphere lrm boat.

STK-3FB - very good inner sphere large laser boat, can also do er larges, but its range isn't as good as the BLR-1G, though it has ECM which makes up for it a bit.

#4 Shinichi Yamamoto

• PipPip
  • Tai-i
  • Tai-i
  • 47 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 09:37 PM

I second Eisenhorne.
I own the BLR-1G, STK-3FB and VTR-9S myself and I can recommend them as well. LThe Stalker could also do 2 MRM30s and 6 MLs, might be better for QP to skill up.