- - - - -

New Mouse

7 replies to this topic

#1 Firewall6112

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 23 February 2019 - 08:10 AM

First of all, if this is in the wrong forum, please move.

Second, sorry to ask a noob question, but for some reason, I can't let this go...

I just got a new mouse (Logitech G603) and it has no less than 5 levels of sensitivity. (Why does anyone need 5?!?!)

Dropped into MWO and my crosshairs are jumping all over the place! No offense, to anyone (except my team), but I couldn't hold it steady for squat. So I quickly pressed the variable DPI button on the mouse, and flew through the 5 levels and nothing felt "right". So I started playing with it. Then I found that there is an in-game mouse sensitivity setting as well. Sigh...

Got me to thinking, what is the best combination of DPI and mouse sensitivity to fully support aiming? I don't want it to be too slow, but if it is too fast, I have a hard time targeting. Does anyone know what is the max DPI rate that MWO will accept? I figure I should set the mouse to that and then play with the in-game sensitivity? Or, should I set the in-game sensitivity to something and then just adjust the mouse's sensitivity?

Am I overthinking this? Most likely, but I don't want to limit my aiming speed if it can match what the mech should be doing. Hope that helps explain. Thanks.

#2 Spheroid

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 5,062 posts
  • LocationSouthern Wisconsin

Posted 23 February 2019 - 10:03 AM

The default ingame settings is far too high. I run .2 with an adjustable dpi range of 800-1200 dpi.

Edited by Spheroid, 23 February 2019 - 10:03 AM.

#3 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 23 February 2019 - 10:24 AM

View PostFirewall6112, on 23 February 2019 - 08:10 AM, said:

First of all, if this is in the wrong forum, please move.