Psr Pov From A Dirty Casual

29 replies to this topic

#1 Blind Squirrel

• PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 15 July 2020 - 09:46 PM

I've been playing MWO since 2016. I have more than 18,000 games under my belt. I've spent more money on this game than I'll ever admit. Having recently returned to the game after a 7 month hiatus, I'm about to cross into Tier 1. I'm not part of any unit, nor do I plan to be. I only play solo in Quick Play.

The changes made today have severely curtailed the number of games a Dirty Casual, like me, can play in our allotted "entertainment time slot". Some rough tracking/math indicates only getting in 20 games where I used to play 30. That's 33% less games.

My goal with MWO is simple: smash stompy robots against other stompy robots. And I like Battletech, so there's that. I have no interest in PSR, KDR, win/losses, or any of the other stats.I'm only interested in the number of games played.

The issue is apparently with the Try Hards who can't get games in the FOUR game modes specifically for them (Comp Play, Faction Play, Solaris, and the Group Queue), so they've convinced PGI to "fix" Quick Play so they can have "more competitive" games.

It has always been easy to get a game in Quick Play, hence the "Quick" in Quick Play. The fact that players can't get games in the other four game modes should tell you where your actual player base is - the Dirty Casuals like me. If you don't provide a mode for us, Quick Play will soon go the way of Faction Play.

Now, I'm not one to throw down a problem and walk away; I always try to provide a solution. Give all players an option to choose to be competitive or not. Just add a simple checkbox in the UI that can only be changed once each 30 days. If you want to be competitive, check the box to play with other competitive people and have your PSR go up/down based on your skill and fortune. If you don't care about being competitive, uncheck the box and have fun playing - no PSR and no groups.