Looking To The Future Of Mechwarrior

544 replies to this topic

#121 Brauer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts

Posted 06 October 2020 - 10:55 AM

View PostDAEDALOS513, on 06 October 2020 - 09:50 AM, said:

Your points fall flat.. Qp isn't a place to prove anything? Streak treb will only take out a 45 tonner or light? Maneuvaribility and jets trumps tonnage most of the time. I can't count the number of times we've won a match when out-tonned.. certainly more than not. You'll be surprised what a non-meta mech can do in the right hands (or once you gain enough experience).. but you keep taking your 5 or 6 'effective' mechs.. personally I like variety (and a challenge).

I have plenty of experience and I do run less meta stuff on occasion. I recently ran the Spirit Bear and a truly dumb lbx20/micro laser Kin Wolf and enjoyed running up on people and driving Ws in substandard brawl assaults. That doesn't make them dominant or even good. Meta is meta for a reason. Anytime I see a streak mech and I'm in anything over 55 tons I know it's an easy 1v1 kill. The JJs and manueverability don't matter a whole lot because it takes streaks ages to kill anything heavy, and to fire streaks you need LOS, so a direct fire mech heavy can easily burn a streak mech down.

My personal QP farm mech of choice is a Vulcan 5T precisely because of it's manueverability, and it's a heck of a lot more effective and adaptable than any streak mech. It'll even dunk on streak mechs when played appropriately.

BTW there are a lot more than 5 or 6 good and effective mechs in this game, but keep taking bad mechs and bad builds.

#122 Anomalocaris

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 671 posts

Posted 06 October 2020 - 11:18 AM

I don't particularly give 2 ***** who the community manager is. I have some issues with transparency (or lack thereof) from the NGNG guys in the past, but I'll let that go for now as it was a long time ago and I hope they learned their lesson.