So It Looks Like Cadets Aren't The Only Ones Starting In Tier 5 Now...

17 replies to this topic

#1 Anomalocaris

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 671 posts

Posted 15 December 2020 - 11:43 PM

Haven't played since the merge happened. Dropped to Tier 3 with the reset. Today I noticed I'm now Tier 5. Meaningless for me, but think what this means for cadets. Why would a 98% player with a bunch of fully skilled meta mechs ever be in Tier 5 short of a full playerbase reset that starts everyone in Tier 5?

Were I inclined to salt the earth of MWO, how much havoc could I wreak if I started playing again? (don't worry, I'm not unless they unmerge the queues, but I'm sure there will be more than a few that do).

I thought they were starting cadets in Tier 5, but it appears someone in the programming department did a more global change. Then again, is anyone really surprised? I'm sure they'll get everything figured out next year when they start improving the game again.......

#2 crazytimes

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,338 posts

Posted 16 December 2020 - 12:06 AM

That's actually pretty funny. I suspect instead of doing the "tier 5 if less than 25 games total" they did "tier 5 if less than 25 games since reset". Because that makes perfect sense to... someone.

#3 Aidan Crenshaw

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Mercenary
  • The Mercenary
  • 3,629 posts

Posted 16 December 2020 - 12:16 AM

2nd bullet. You'd be T3 in as little as 3 matches. This could be achieved under the old PSR system. You might get there even faster now.

View PostInnerSphereNews, on 14 December 2020 - 10:43 AM, said:

• New Players will start in TIer 5 (900 PSR).
  • Players who have less than 25 games will have adjustments to their PSR to reflect the new PSR starting point

#4 Charronn

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 493 posts
  • LocationPictland

Posted 16 December 2020 - 03:33 AM