Lrm Advice

50 replies to this topic

#1 Chrisie10101

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 March 2021 - 09:06 PM

Hello fellow mechwarriors! I recently started playing this game and after some testing with multiple mechtypes i have grown quite fond of LRM's. Me and a couple friends are thinking of trying grouping up with multiple lrm mechs and would like some advice on what the best setups for such a group would be. Thanks in advance :)

#2 The6thMessenger

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Nova Captain
  • Nova Captain
  • 8,045 posts
  • LocationFrom a distance in an Urbie with a HAG, delivering righteous fury to heretics.

Posted 02 March 2021 - 09:26 PM

Put lasers, a BUNCH of lasers that you have to force yourself to get your own locks. LRMs can IDF but they are purposefully bad at it, they are best employed when using it with your own locks.

I personally use TBR 2x LRM20A + 6x ERML, because I can poke heavily with laser, with LRMs cherry on top.

Alternatively, you can assemble an LRM battery, but with a couple of spotters.

Edited by The6thMessenger, 02 March 2021 - 09:27 PM.

#3 Stormpaw

• PipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 66 posts

Posted 02 March 2021 - 09:33 PM

View PostThe6thMessenger, on 02 March 2021 - 09:26 PM, said:

Alternatively, you can assemble an LRM battery, but with a couple of spotters.

that seems like really solid and fun gameplay, but in the quickplay que you can only have groups of 4, it doesn't seem wise to lose a mech to just do spotting, do you have any advice for running 4 lrms mechs in the que?

#4 Meep Meep

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 2,781 posts
  • LocationBehind You

Posted 02 March 2021 - 10:14 PM

View PostStormpaw, on 02 March 2021 - 09:33 PM, said:

that seems like really solid and fun gameplay, but in the quickplay que you can only have groups of 4, it doesn't seem wise to lose a mech to just do spotting, do you have any advice for running 4 lrms mechs in the que?