Question

11 replies to this topic

#1 LunaticRED

• Pip
  • Knight Errant
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 November 2022 - 08:36 AM

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to this game, and I have enjoyed it so far, even though I tend to flop over dead in the time it takes for a microwave to oscillate once lest if I am piloting my trusty Centurion.

So far, I have made the stupid decisions of buying a KFX-D, CN9-A and an RFL-8D without looking up what builds I can make in advance. In this post I am however primarily focusing on the RFL-8D, as it is the most expensive purchase I have made so far.

While I was initially drawn to this mech because of its jump jets and rotary autocannons, I find myself quickly destroyed in every battle I participate in whenever I enter a fight. After some forum-sculking, I have found out that mounting XL engines on Inner Sphere battlemechs will make it extremely fragile, as it will flop over dead if any of its three torso sections are destroyed. A light engine, however, only cripples the mech if one side torso is destroyed rather than outright rendering it inoperable. This is especially of interest to me because the RFL-8D is a liability if it loses both of its side torsos anyways.

Now I stand before a daunting, three-pronged ultimatum: Should I replace the included XL 240 with a Light 245, and ditch all of the jump jets in exchange for a half ton of ammunition and some armor or should I simply keep the XL 240 for now? Or should I just abandon this current account because I've made too many poor financial decisions on it and because most of my free premium time went to waste?

I am currently somewhat hesitant to replace the engine because the jump jets were a major selling point for this mech to me and because this purchase could possibly account for yet another financial misstep.

I'd be very thankful for any advice I can get!

#2 martian

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 7,788 posts