- - - - -

Unsure Of How To Play And Getting Team Killed For It For It.

10 replies to this topic

#1 Matt85

• PipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 65 posts

Posted 18 April 2023 - 03:43 PM

I just started playing MWO online and I'm still trying to figure out how things work. But I've been having a real problem with other teammates basically killing me because "I was doing it wrong".

I was playing a Cougar and doing a bit of peek-a-boo style fighting, where I hold an angle near the "red players" and pop out after they fire or when they aren't looking to hit them with an alpha strike (laser build I got from a youtube video), then retreat behind cover and wait for another opportunity.

In a few different games I was told to "be more useful" and then was basically killed by my own teammates. My teammates would wait for me to pop out and attack, then stand behind me so I could not retreat into cover!

This technique seemed to be working in terms of damage and kills... but is apparently not acceptable to the community. I would appreciate advice on how to better play this light mech!

Thank you
-Matt

Edited by Matt85, 18 April 2023 - 03:44 PM.

#2 PsionicMantis

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 110 posts

Posted 18 April 2023 - 05:20 PM

Seems like you just had bad teammates. There isnt anything wrong with that style of play, you'll see alot of that style in the higher tiers cause standing in the open is just bad. I guess all I can suggest is to try not get too close to teammates cause blocking cover can happen, not always malicious, but thats not to say they didnt do it intentionally since they wanted someone else to get shot at.

#3 Raffen Volt

• PipPip
  • The Raider
  • The Raider
  • 34 posts
  • LocationMagistracy of Canopus

Posted 18 April 2023 - 09:03 PM