Hit detection, All that really matters

140 replies to this topic

#1 mekabuser

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • 1,846 posts

Posted 01 November 2011 - 01:24 PM

The title sums it up for me. I started playing mw4 and now play mwll and imo the only thing that matters is that If my guass rifle hits at a glancing angle on the enemy mech,the game mechanics can register the appropriate damage.
To put it another way, I couldnt care less if the graphics are exactly the same as Mw4, I would hope that the first major release of a mw title in ten years would reflect the exponential increase in computing power. The power to "simulate" damage accurately.
It doesnt mean a **** thing how pretty something looks if your ac20 at point blank range does nothing.
NOTHING ruins immersion more in mechwarrior.
I know we got a good dev team here with passion, but I hope more than anything there is at least SoMeOnE ... who knows how important this one aspect is.
THoughts>?

#2 Erhardt

• PipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 43 posts

Posted 01 November 2011 - 02:53 PM

I wouldn't hold my breath for that kind of damage model if I were you. Hit detection will be paramount, but burning cycles of code on computing mass and velocity of a Gauss round round vs. angle of attack and density of armor then computing damage applied from there probably isn't in the cards when we're already not getting simple straightforward physical attacks or AI opponents. I'm sure it'll be more along the lines of the traditional "did it hit? yep. apply 15 pts of damage. done"

#3 Helmer

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • 3,272 posts
  • LocationColumbus, Ga

Posted 01 November 2011 - 06:36 PM

View PostErhardt, on 01 November 2011 - 02:53 PM, said: