What's the point?

34 replies to this topic

#1 Shiftfac3d

• PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationNorth Carolina

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:39 PM

So I am new to the MW world and am trying to really catch up on all of the lore but I have a question pertaining to all the groups within MW. What is the point of pledging to a house or being part of the republic? What about Merc Corps? I am assuming that is a mercenary group but I could be mistaken. What about all the clan's within this forum? Are these clans different from being part of a house or are they sub groups within that house? Just trying to understand so I can know how to go about selecting the one I wish to be a part of. Thanks.

#2 Alistair Steiner

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 516 posts
  • LocationFlorence, SC

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:54 PM

It's all lore and fluff. Houses Steiner and Davion are technically allied, but they're still rather different. Here's a basic rundown.

Davion: Generally the white knights, based on mainland Europe and big on honor, duty, fighting, and autocannons. Currently led by Hanse Davion, or "The Fox," a brilliant and shrewd tactician.

Steiner: Based mostly on modern-day Germany, House Steiner is all about big 'Mechs. They mostly fight defensively, where movement isn't as big of a deal as armor and firepower. Also the "merchant house" of the Inner Sphere, so quite wealthy. Mercs like them.

Kurita: Based on medieval Japan, this house follows bushido to the extreme, but with the up-and-coming Theodore Kurita, their tactics have changed to challenge Hanse's military strategies. Honorable, but deadly.

Marik: I honestly don't know much about them. Little lore, other than the House is usually embroiled in one civil war or another. Based on a mix of Indian, American (North and South) and other ethnicities At the moment, not fighting anyone, and high manufacturing capabilities (will become important in the Clan Invasion).