19 replies to this topic

#1 PharmEcis

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 148 posts
  • LocationSilver Spring, MD

Posted 21 October 2012 - 01:11 PM

So I've been a mech fan since the age of ten when I bought the TT game. When I was a freshman in college I managed to play at Virtual Worlds in Chicago a few times. I dreamed of the day when I'd own my own Tesla II pod. Eighteen years later (crap I'm getting old!) here we are and this great game finally came to light. The day founders went on sale I immediately purchased it. Over the years I've seen sim pits for various games and have known eventually I'd build my own. The last five years of my life have been dedicated to building my automotive performance business. Now it's time to use some of my skills for building the not so immersive sim pit.

I have a different desire and design goals with my sim pit. I'm not looking for that complete immersive effect where I feel like I'm literally in a cockpit and everything has been made to look 100% authentic. My hat is off to you guys that have the motivation and more importantly, the dedication to take the time to custom build a sim pit like that. I'm 35, I have a 1 year old son and I run 3 businesses. I simply don't have the time, it would take me years to build something like that. I'm an entrepreneur. I've gambled and while I haven't come out big, I'm better off than being an employee for someone else. So of course, I see opportunity as well. Gaming pits are ridiculously expensive for premades. There are some fancy ones out there to be sure but I'm not rich and I don't think the majority of you are either.