Damn Sand....

11 replies to this topic

#1 Opus

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 1,671 posts
  • LocationI am not here. why the **** are you looking here?

Posted 03 April 2012 - 02:43 PM

This is an excerpt from several short stories about Opus. I have been writing for several years on my character “Opus” I once considered throwing it on a blog, but it seems a bit self-serving.

Let me know what you think, I have never shown this to anybody soooo yeah I’m not an English professor.

Damn sand, and burnt sand at that; burnt sand always has a flavor you never quite forget. But there is lots of that here on Tamarind. A hundred years of raids and fighting do that to a planet. It used to be nice place when I was born here, but my mother escaped with me, my younger sister Ann, and brother Sean - some 40 years ago. She wouldn’t come back, I had to. I had to know if it was a dream, or real. But for a boy of 5, it seemed brighter then, and well, less sand.

And yet more sand, I think to myself as I sweep the floor of the garage, it always finds a way in. They say the desert is receding, yeah right. But to the city Captain’s credit, there is green again in our village. Ever since we won our water rights back from Graham-Davis. They rerouted the river back, and farms are growing, and people are moving back. It’s good for business, fixing farm equipment keeps us in the black. Still the mountains keep the sand at bay, most the time, and the snakes as well. We introduced Mongooses a few years back, and well, I haven’t been bitten in a few months, or seen even one for a while. The snakes here, for the most part, are none poisonous; but there is the il-tamuskien. Nasty little thing, 6 seconds and your paralyzed, not dead, but you wish you were.