Beginner's guide to trial mechs

8 replies to this topic

#1 Rogbull

• PipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:15 AM

I've heard quite a few harsh words about trial mechs these last few weeks, so I decided to spend the last weeks of closed beta playing them and figured out that there actuelly a few decent ones in there. Thus I decided to post my findings in the form of small video guides.

((edit)) I just rushed out a third video with an overview of current and previous trial mechs which you can find on my channel: www.youtube.com/user/AKARogbull/
I'll make a new one if they decide to give you a different batch of mechs. I hope this helps.

Youtube seems to take it's time putting videos in the upload section so look in the feed instead since I put my videos in playlists.

Since I'm pretty new to the whole video thing, I'd appreciate any input to improve on it.

Edited by Rogbull, 30 October 2012 - 09:13 AM.

#2 Kmieciu

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Urban Commando
  • Urban Commando
  • 3,437 posts
  • LocationPoland

Posted 30 October 2012 - 06:28 AM

To maximize your chances you should take the Centurion. If you`re lucky, you`ll go against a Yen Lo Wang, which is a fair fight.

Taking a Dragon results in being matched against a Gausscat, a Streakcat or a LRM Boat. AC5 against double Gauss? LRM10 against double LRM15? 2 lasers against 12 homing missiles? Run away and hide?

Trial Awesome has enough ammo for 39 seconds of firing! You`ll be going against an Alas LRM boats that can fire continuously for 10 minutes.

Trial Raven will face a Jenner which is 20 to 60 kph faster. With no chance to outrun it he`ll eat through your back armor in minutes...

The only advice I can give is to join a mercenary corp or a "clan". Or send PGI a ticket saying the matchmaker should only pit new players in trial mechs with other trial mechs.

PS. Great video BTW: an 80 ton mech gets owned by a 35 ton Jenner...