One Thing I Would Love to See in Game..

8 replies to this topic

#1 Vallend

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • LocationOhio

Posted 03 November 2011 - 11:35 AM

I know if I was designing this game one thing I would add is a very rare event where a Star League Cache would appear on a planet. I just picture in my mind players rushing to invade that planet to control the cache.

As a designer I would have the Cache event run for a while and then have the team that won the most fights in that amount of time receive their reward. That would be one or two of the old Star League design Battlemechs for the players on those teams with the most kill points and maybe a few Star League level weapons for the rest of the winning team.

To me it would be a thrilling change of pace event that players would love but by having that event only take place maybe once every two or three weeks would still keep Star League battlemechs rare.

#2 Starne

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts

Posted 03 November 2011 - 11:43 AM

First, this should probably be in the suggestion forum.

I like the general Idea, but there is a major issue.
Preventing a snowballing effect. That is, after winning enough of these caches, a team would have a much easier time winning further caches. Eventually, this would lead to unstoppable super teams that noone else has the hardware to stand up to. Basically, how could you prevent a "The best get better until they become unstoppable mech-gods" scenario.

Edited by Starne, 03 November 2011 - 11:46 AM.

#3 Stormwolf

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 3,951 posts
  • LocationCW Dire Wolf

Posted 03 November 2011 - 11:43 AM

I would make it a two step operation.

Step 1:
Secure the cache from a enemy team. This will net you any operational battlemechs in the cache (maybe one or two).

Step 2: