Streaks & Light Mechs

6 replies to this topic

#1 Captain Midnight

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 657 posts

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:13 AM

First idea is to help with light mechs. Let's put a hard speed cap in the game that is low enough that the "lag shield" goes away. Work as hard as we can on fixing hit detection and hit boxes and "netcode", but until we DO fix it cap speed at the highest number that the game can support. There is no point in letting mechs go 150KM/H if you have to aim 4 mech lengths ahead to hit them.

If you don't need the lag shield to succeed then you won't mind losing it. I feel horrible using my Jenner these days because even if I don't do it on purpose it's just so abusive. No one can hit me and it's not because I'm a good pilot, it's because they have to shoot the air in front of me at a nebulous, variable point and basically get lucky to kill me. Capping speed would be a really great move until the netcode works better. We can't have another 2-6 weeks of this crap.

Second idea is for streaks, right now I think they are really OP because of the level of damage they provide and their killing power compared to the skill needed to use them. I think they should randomly target EVERY non-head component on a mech instead of just the torsos. Light mechs haven't got a lot of armor and they will still go down hard to streaks, hell it might actually leg them out pretty hard and turn out to be even more OP for light hunting... But it would make them useless against most mediums and anything bigger especially. Streaks should be used for killing lights and THATS IT, they should not be better than SRM6s for coring out heavy duty enemies.