52 replies to this topic

#41 MustrumRidcully

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 10,644 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 09:21 AM

View PostAym, on 11 December 2012 - 07:49 AM, said:

Ah but aren't we on the same page that for the sake of MWO clantech should not be lifted from TT values? It shouldn't be straight up superior, but rather different?

I would prefer that approach, but there is a problem that I only now came to realize. We're in this transition period, remember.
The Awesome 9M is one for which this model would work well. You just rebalance the ER PPC so it can work with double heat sinks as side grades.
But what about a mech that uses double heat sinks but still standard 3025 IS weaponry? I am not a Battletech expert, I don't know good examples, but they are bound to exist, since it will still take some time for ER weapons to be available in all sizes.

So may be we are forced to do what countless of MMORPGs are doing - have level and level brackets in which we operate. A "1st level" Mech uses single heat sinks, standard armor and internals, and the most advanced weaponry may be ER weapons (since the IS one seem to be sidegrades, not upgrades).
A 2nd level mech may have IS tech like Ultra AUtocannons, Double Heat Sinks, Endo Steel, Ferro Fibrous at his disposal.
And 3rd level Mech would be a Clan mech.

Or we invent our MW:O Battle Value system to balance all this. Whatever. It may just not be possible to have the more advanced tech as side grades at all times, because stock mechs mix tech levels and their low garde tech only works because they mix it with upgraded tech.

Edited by MustrumRidcully, 11 December 2012 - 09:23 AM.

#42 MustrumRidcully

• Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 10,644 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:07 AM

Oh, an interesting update on game balance: http://mwomercs.com/...ost__p__1639491

Paul Inoyue said: