Another Alpha Cat Build

1 reply to this topic

#1 OvrKi11

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 10:47 AM

Hi everyone. So I would say I'm new to MWO, but not to gaming. I used to mess around back in the day with Armored Core and similar games, and I love the concept of the full customization of this game. I've been on here for a short period of time checking things out, and before the recent patch I was messing around in a Gauss Cat and an LRM Cat. It was fun, and I was happy with It..... until the patch...

I then changed over to an Ilya with triple uac5s which was a BLAST, but I have a special place in my heart for the Cats.

No worries of course, being that I wanted another Cat I adapted and tried some new load outs. I tried the K2 with AC20s and MLs which was fun, but wasn't fast enough to beat the LRMs, I tried the dual PPC/Gauss setup which was not as Kick A** as the dual Gauss. Of course I had to try the Streak Cat, but I didn't like the build due to the new ECM option. Then I was rocked by a 90 alpha SRM Cat not too long ago, which brings me to my new found build probably not new to you guys though :lol:. here she is:

Alpha Cat C4:
Endo Structure
15 DHS
2X JJ
XL 315 (78 KPH) w/ Speed Tweak (84 KPH)
4X SRM6 Arti with 8 Tons of Ammo (manual re arms it to 600 rounds which is plenty so no ammo costs!)
2X ML
AMS w 1 Ton
Armor 416/422 (Legs at 57)
70 Alpha

The Pros:
This mech is as fast as a Medium with full Heavy Armor, and enough alpha to take down an Atlas with 2 to 3 good strikes. Heat is very manageable with the heat efficiency at 1.25, and the Med Lasers are a great backup when your SRMs go. Of course, it's nice to have AMS as well to benefit you and your teammates around you.

The Cons:
One draw back is that Cats are easy to kill with cockpit shots and the C4 has extra large mickey mouse ears.....which look stupid....

My Recommendations: