Light Mech Loadout Help

44 replies to this topic

#1 Bosko89Buha

• PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 02:28 PM

Hi everyone! I'm sure this has been written somewhere on this forum, but I'm a better learner if I learn on my own example... so, I hope this is a place and a way to ask this.

I started playing 3 days ago, saved just enough CB to buy my first mech - Raven RVN-4X (it seemed like the one with the best heat efficiency, armor and firepower overall. So, I got it, maximum tonnage is 35t. I upgraded to ferro-fibrous armor and endo-steel structure, and my tonnage dropped to 33.2t (I maxed out my armor points, or whatever they're called on anything I could, so now my armor is at 238). I've been looking at weapons - SRM 6, 2 machine guns and 2 medium lasers = combined weight 6t, 8t with ammo. Is there a way I can decrease my weight more besides taking down my armor a bit? If that is the only way - I like AC guns, so would it be worth it to sell both machine guns and drop 4 armor points, and get one AC/2?

Any other tips on this mech would be great also. Thanks!

#2 Elizander

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 7,540 posts
  • LocationPhilippines

Posted 14 December 2012 - 02:32 PM

Well, an AC/2 is definitely more damage than 2 machine guns right now so you can't really go wrong with that change if you can afford it. 2 machine guns + ammo is like 2 tons and drop a little armor and you have 4 tons. An AC/2 is 6 tons so you will need to get 3 tons somewhere (ammo included).

You can try dropping the SRM6 for now and see how that works out, though you might want to at least have an SSRM2 around. I don't think you can back too much into it without going XL (and that costs a lot).

#3 Bosko89Buha

• PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 02:50 PM