Help Me Buying My First Mech

6 replies to this topic

#1 icesea

Rookie

• 2 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:33 AM

hey i am new to this game it is alot of fun but i was always scared of buying my first mech
mostly becuase i haven't really found my play style that really fits
but now the i have x2 the amount of c bills for any mech i think i should
i have some questions

what is the diffrence bettween all the varaties of the mech
are they just diffrent starting equiment or are they diffrent in ways they cant be similar

are atals hard to pilot just wondering

so what are good fornt line combat mechs

also i heard hunchbacks are good in close combat but what are the centrion good for

#2 Buckminster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • 1,577 posts
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted 19 December 2012 - 06:49 AM

The differences between the mech variants primarily lay in their hard points. The stock layouts are also different, but that can all be changed to suit. Hard points can not be changed.

Example:

Stock Catapult C1 has 2 missile and 4 laser hardpoints, and starts with 2 LRM15s and 4 medium lasers. You can play with what lasers and missiles you have, but it's always capped at 2 missile and 4 lasers.

Stock Catapult K2 has 4 energy and 2 ballistic hard points, and starts with 2 PPCs, 2 medium lasers and 2 machine guns. You can swap around those weapons, mixing lasers and autocannons, but you are always capped at 4 energy and 2 ballistic.

Here's a great link that breaks down the hard point differences:

http://mwo.smurfy-net.de/

And really, you should play with all the trial mechs to get a feel for style. I'm a fan of the Catapults, as they are fairly flexible. I have three - a C1 with 2 LRM15 and 4 medium lasers for support, a K2 with 2 ERPPCs and 2 medium lasers for direct support, and an A1 with 3 SRM6 and 3 SSRM2 for up close and dirty fighting.

#3 Wrenchfarm

• Big Brother
  • Big Brother
  • 1,039 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 07:04 AM