Huge collection of Lego 'Mechs (Newest: Hornet)

7 replies to this topic

#1 SNobleJr

• PipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 75 posts
  • LocationHungary

Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:21 PM

The newest 'Mech in the collection: a redesign of the Hornet; originally perhaps one of the ugliest 'Mechs in existence, now hopefully passable:
Posted Image

And here's the full GALLERY.
(Also, here's a separate gallery with the LXF files used by LDD, for anyone who wants to take a closer look at the models.)

Some history and details about the models, for those who are interested:

This is a project of mine I've been working on for about two years now, on and off as time permitted. Essentially, I aim to build admittedly not all, but still a sizeable chunk of BattleTech's 'Mech selection. Currently almost five companies' worth of 'Mechs are complete without counting variants, and two full battalions with variants included. My need-to-build list still includes close to a hundred additional 'Mechs, so this project could go on for quite a while yet.

The models are built to a scale somewhere between the common microscale and minifigscale 'Mechs, aiming for a good balance of detail and articulation (though admittedly, some of the assaults are pushing the size where they might collapse under their own weight if they were to be built with real bricks, especially the reverse-jointed ones). Also, they are roughly in scale with each other. And if anyone's wondering, the uniform black-and-red color scheme is a holdover from the earliest models, built either from my own parts pile or with Lego Digital Designer before its Extended mode was made public, both of which had these colors as the most common ones available. (On that note, I'm happy to do quick recolors if anyone's interested in seeing a 'Mech with a particular paintjob.)