Guide To Dealing With Ecm Lights.

13 replies to this topic

#1 Captain Mediocre

• PipPip
  • Survivor
  • 33 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 15 January 2013 - 09:51 AM

I am a light mech pilot I use ECM and I have likely ruined your day. I will admit ECM is OP but I also use a Dragon for killing lights with great success. Here is what I’ve found works from both sides of these encounters. These are some simple and effective things that other users just aren’t doing.
  • Stay together: If your big, slow and alone I will run around behind you and pick away your armor (I have cored Atlases). One other friendly nearby makes me think twice before attacking you.
  • Protect Friendly ECM: Kind of the same as stay together. If your Medium or heavy protect ECM atlas. If you’re a non ECM light and you can keep up follow your ECM lights and watch their back.
  • Limit my options: I am most often killed when the opponent uses terrain to force me to attack from a direction of their choosing,
  • Carry Weapons just for me: Your large lasers and gauss are great against another stalker or atlas but you’re not going to hit me (Except for one atlas pilot I keep running into. How did you core me on my first pass two matches in a row?). Try these weapons; two or more SRM 6, LBX10 and Pulse lasers are all scary when wielded well.
  • Aim Low: If you leg me I’m dead it’s that simple and it’s also rather easy with the weapons above. Obviously if my torso armor is already low then just core me.
  • Anything with ECM is a priority target: Obviously if you’re in an assault facing an assault mech don’t turn to squash the raven. But if you see two ravens and one has ECM kill that one first