Need Raven 2X And 4X Help

19 replies to this topic

#1 darkkterror

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 814 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:13 AM

So, the other day I decided to buy a RVN-3L. I'm actually really enjoying the speed and agility of a light Mech, more than I thought I would. Anyway, I'm 7/8 on the basic skills and so I will, rather unfortunately, have to purchase and use the other two Ravens if I want to continue to advance my proficiencies.

I'm looking for some help in trying to get decent load outs for the 2X and 4X to try and make grinding their skills as painless as possible. I was fooling around and I came up with this for the 2X: http://mwo.smurfy-ne...dd42582016024b4

I've never used pulse lasers before and I've heard that they're very effective against lights since they deal their damage more quickly than regular lasers. I figured since the 2X has 4 energy hard points and that enemy lights would be of big concern to me that I should try some out. The SRM6 in the missile slot gives it some extra punch and I don't have to worry about trying to acquire a lock when covered by enemy ECM.

As for the 4X...all of my sane ideas for it involve putting machine guns in the 2 ballistic slots, but we all know how terrible machine guns are so that's kind of making me cringe. I did see someone in a RVN-4X before with an AC20 crammed in there, but that just seems...I dunno, I'm doubting the effectiveness. Maybe I'm wrong on that.

The only other thing I can see cramming in those ballistics slots is 2 AC2s, but that limits me to only the AC2s because of weight. It doesn't seem to me like AC2s, which rely on continuous sustained damage, would work well on a light Mech which relies on hit and run.

Anyone have any ideas for the 4X? Should I just cram an AC20 in there? :P

#2 The Mech behind you

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 566 posts
  • LocationGermany, Northern Baden-Württemberg

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:22 AM