Thinking about starting battletech, but have a lot of questions first.

10 replies to this topic

#1 Xelaxela333

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 04 June 2012 - 02:44 AM

Hello MWO forums
I have been playing tabletop games and mechwarrior video games for a long time now. I feel like an ***** because it was only recently that I found out that my interests overlapped and battletech is a tabletop mini game. I looked it up and am definitely interested, but I am so confused.
I don't have the starter box, but I downloaded all of the free pdfs. on the site. I know some of the rules but have some questions.

1) Is the game fun? Will I be bored? the rules themselves seem rather vanilla. . . I only really have one person that will play it with me, and he might not have the patience for all the rules and little technical details. How does the system perform in terms of actual fun?

2) I am completely new to battletech. Which rulebooks do I need? there's so many that I don't even know where to start... theres so many, and then theres different versions of each one, different years and things, and I have no clue what any of it means. Can someone clear this up for me??

Thanks guys. Iappreciate your answers!

- Alex

#2 Wrayeth

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 221 posts
  • LocationHesperus II

Posted 04 June 2012 - 05:50 AM

View PostXelaxela333, on 04 June 2012 - 02:44 AM, said:

1) Is the game fun? Will I be bored? the rules themselves seem rather vanilla. . . I only really have one person that will play it with me, and he might not have the patience for all the rules and little technical details. How does the system perform in terms of actual fun?