Ecm Is Fine And Has Plenty Of Counters (And Will Continue To Have More Counters As Time Goes By)

152 replies to this topic

#121 Hekalite

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 424 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 04:15 AM

View PostIceCase88, on 20 February 2013 - 04:46 PM, said:

Can you count? I am not trying to be mean because it is a legitimate question. ECM has 3 counters... 1, 2, 3. ECM, TAG, and PPCs. You can actually say it has 5 if you include component destruction and mech destruction. ECM only affects 2 weapons. 1, 2. SSRMs and LRMs. LRMs are just as abundant, and effective, as they were when I started playing in November. ECM does not counter ACs, Gauss, lasers, ppcs, flamers, mgs, and SRMs. Of the 9 different weapon types it only affects 2 weapons. Just 2. Only 2. If you want to count each weapon individually your argument gets even weaker that it is OP.

ECM works as intended and according TT. You can quote total warfare all you want but the fact is it just says ECM suite and not Guardian ECM Suite. Is it referring to the Liao ECM suite which weighed 7 tons or the GECM? You cannot answer that question. You can only assume.

In closing... I love the it is OP because it only weighs 1.5 tons which is the dumbest attempt at an argument ever. Size is irrelevant. If you want to argue it costs too little than that is more of a valid argument or maybe it should be reserved for a module slot when you master a mech class. However that would deny new players of its use. Those of you against ECM are a vocal minority but a minority nonetheless. Most of you are probably ssrm boaters or lrm boaters. Build a balanced mech and L2P and you will be fine.

Did I say how many weapons? No. I said how many items.

Items ECM counters
LRMs
SRMs
Narc
BAP
Artemis
Advanced Target Decay (x2)
360 Target
Advanced Sensor (x2)
Target Info
ECM

Items to counter ECM
ECM
Tag
PPCs
Advanced Sensor (x2)