Heat Balance

19 replies to this topic

Poll: Heat Balance (23 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you support the changes Heat Balance below?

1. Yes (12 votes [52.17%])

Percentage of vote: 52.17%

2. No (11 votes [47.83%])

Percentage of vote: 47.83%

3. Abstain (0 votes [0.00%])

Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Elementary3

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 854 posts
  • LocationKharkov, Ukraine

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:02 AM

Hi to All.
I'm new to this game but I like it very much.

IMHO heat balance is poor, because heat sink can dissipate only 0,1 HPS. So, for balance my PPC, for example, I need 27 heat sinks. It must be joke? I think this is a reason why energy oriented mechs (like AWESOME) underpowered in comparison with ballistic mechs. It's impossible to achive good sustained DPS on heavy energy weapons.

That is my suggestion.
Each heat sink can dissipate, saying, 0.3 HPS. Engine generates heat, dependently on moving speed. On full throttle it generates same heat how many can dissipate installed heat sinks. While no moving it generates, saying, 30% of maximum heat. In down mode engine produce no heat.

What it gives.
1) Balance between energy and ballistic weapons.
So, for example, 1 PPC + 9 heat sinks ( 16 ton 12 slots) gives equal DPS per ton as 1 AC/5 + 2 heat sink + 3 ammo (13 ton 9 slots).
2) More mesh and fight tactics - you can shoose between firepower and mobility.

How do You think?

P.S. Sorry for my bad English.

#2 Karl Streiger

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Wrath
  • Wrath
  • 20,369 posts
  • LocationBlack Dot in a Sea of Blue

Posted 05 April 2013 - 04:12 AM

The problem is the heat cap and the high rate of fire.

more dissipation will only cause more trouble...maybe with quirks n perks to make the AWS-8Q SHS quirky and give them a 0.11 HPS while reducing the heat production of his Kreuss PPCs.

But as a general modification...i have to say no

#3 Elementary3

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 854 posts