63 replies to this topic

#1 Keira RAVEN McKenna

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 878 posts
  • LocationAuckland ...but summer has gone and the tears now flow

Posted 01 August 2014 - 07:50 PM

So I wrangled permission from the BF to go buy/build a proper PC to play on as my laptop has started to overheat and shutdown during MWO games even though its sitting on a cool pad fan thing. I need the laptop for work and the oh so important facebook updates so I can't allow it to die.

A local shop call Playtech came up with this desktop build for me (I copied everything from the quote into PCpartpicker.com) as a replacement for game playing. I play mostly MWO and Warthunder.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/yVN3gs

In NZ dollars its $1803 with a 2 year warranty.

I am still learning about PCs so... any good?

#2 Nick Rarang

• PipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 81 posts

Posted 01 August 2014 - 08:12 PM

Good enough to run MWO at very high settings @1080p

#3 Tarl Cabot

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Tai-sho
  • Tai-sho
  • 7,660 posts
  • LocationImperial City, Luthien - Draconis Combine

Posted 01 August 2014 - 08:39 PM

On the CPU, get the Intel Core i5-4690K , as the i5-4590 does not have a K version. That means it is unlocked and can be overclocked. MWO does better at 4ghz than 3ghzish.

#4 Keira RAVEN McKenna

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 878 posts

Posted 01 August 2014 - 08:48 PM

Overclocking is WAAAAAYYYYY out of my skill set and comfort zone.

#5 t Khrist

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 656 posts
  • Twitter: Link
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationThe Mitten

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:06 PM

Looks good, you should be all set. Enjoy!

See you on the battlefield!

#6 Tarl Cabot

• Tai-sho
  • Tai-sho
  • 7,660 posts
  • LocationImperial City, Luthien - Draconis Combine

Posted 01 August 2014 - 09:13 PM

View PostKeira_NZ, on 01 August 2014 - 08:48 PM, said: