Protocol When Fragged

22 replies to this topic

#1 Fearthegn

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 3 posts

Posted 21 October 2015 - 07:11 AM

Now granted I'm new to the server, though I have played many hours of Mechwarrior Computer games, just not online against players. Even so, I presume that there are certain standards of conduct which teams are expected to operate under in order to achieve a level of victory.

When I am online, I adopt a characater persona which includes a prominant southern Mississippi Valley twang which is done for comical effect. I likewise, prior to engagement, chat in that persona as a way of adding a bit of light hearted humor which has a psycological effect upon the team, giving every one a bit of tension alleviation. Or at least that's the idea. It has seemed to work so far.

However last night some member of my team shot me in the back, repeatedly, pretty much destorying my light mech's defensive capabilities. This was long before we made contact with the enemy. Now I presumed the first time was accidental so I ducked behind a rock and chewed him out in character. I got a good look at him. Everyone else had moved on.

Well I turned and started to catch up with the rest of the team and the fellow shot me up yet again, pretty much destroying what was left of my armor on my back and arms and legs. As this was my best mech (New to the game, it's the only one I have been able to buy and trick out sufficiently for it to perform a scouting and sniping service) I had pretty much lost my genuine combat capability.

It's at this point that I informed the team that it was clear I was not welcome and ejected from my mech and disconected leaving the team to fed for itself. All this happened prior to any contact with the opponsing forces.