- - - - -

Support Mechs

24 replies to this topic

#1 Desphiria

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • 6 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 10:15 PM

Hello. I just started playing the game yesterday and I was wondering, what would be a good ranged support mech for a beginner? Some people said the Atlas but I was wondering if there were more that people could suggest. Also, what's an LRM Boat? I saw that twice today. Does that mean a mech with just LRMs or something?

#2 Not A Real RAbbi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 1,688 posts
  • LocationDeath to Aladeen Cafe

Posted 17 February 2016 - 10:37 PM

View PostDesphiria, on 17 February 2016 - 10:15 PM, said:

Hello. I just started playing the game yesterday and I was wondering, what would be a good ranged support mech for a beginner? Some people said the Atlas but I was wondering if there were more that people could suggest. Also, what's an LRM Boat? I saw that twice today. Does that mean a mech with just LRMs or something?

Welcome!

First, to your last question. An "LRM boat" is a mech that "boats" LRMs, so yeah, basically a mostly- or all-LRM mech. CPLT-A1 is a prime example. PURE boating is generally a bad idea, but boating with backup weapons (a CPLT-Cx with a couple MLs, for example) can be done well.

Now, to the former point. There are a TON of good 'ranged support' mechs in MWO. I recommend that you do not start off trying to be all SNIPER EXXXTREME or GOD-O-LURMS. Why? You won't learn to fight up-close, and that's a skill that you're going to need.