still getting minimap bug and no hud bug on average once every 3 matches

#44 AnubiteGroove

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 158 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:13 PM

"Working as intended. Bugs are features."

Where is Dale Gribble when you need him?

#45 MischiefSC

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Benefactor
  • The Benefactor
  • 16,697 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:16 PM

View PostKataris, on 05 April 2013 - 06:30 AM, said:

Right, but with each iteration we see a bug or two swept under the rug, but then 4 new ones emerge. My frustration stems from the fact that these HUD bugs have persisted in builds since I started playing. It reminds me of a project I did in college where each developer has their own version of the code and implements changes on that version. Then when they have to merge the changes, they are unable to maintain the fixes and old bugs reappear. I understand these bugs appear intermittently and are difficult to reproduce in the lab, but sometimes I wish the guys at PGI would play the game on live servers more frequently and in longer intervals so that they too can experience how unstable the client is.

The thing about hud bugs though is that they're probably a product of memory leaks. These can be caused by stuff total outside the MWO build itself even; driver issues, things directly associated with your system. The game certainly has bugs that need squashed but for some reason it's the hud bugs that crop up from memory leaks. That doesn't make the client 'unstable', any and every software product (even an OS) grows more unstable the longer it runs. A graphics and processor intensive product (this game or otherwise) that can go 6 hours solid is pretty incredible these days.

Needs work but I wouldn't say MWO is out of scale with everything else on the market.

#46 Dulahan

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 361 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:29 PM