3D King Crab

15 replies to this topic

#1 StarscreamDolf

• Pip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 16 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 10:00 AM

For all the King Crab fans out there, i tried my best to get this model done based on 2 facts:

1) Looking as badass as possible based on a very cool artwork of the mech i saw on the forums. (i assume i manged to grab about 60-70% of the aesthetic feeling the artwork gives. i am not a professional 3d modeler i only model for mods, for games like Homeworld 2 and C&C Generals)

2) I wanted to give the feeling of how the mech would look in game if it was implemented. So in general i mean i worked on this having a polygon budget in mind and not working on a high poly version model. I managed to make this have 5k lees polygons that the AS7-D-DC.

i did some kitbashing on the model (Cataphract legs, AC/20s, HGN arm parts) since a lot of things wan't too clear from the artwork to define their exact shape.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 Ialdabaoth

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 329 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 10:11 AM

Those arms are PERFECT. The torso and legs really need work.

The shoulder plates are not helping; I'd ditch them. Actually, I'd ditch the entire torso and hip assembly - remember that it needs to actually torso twist.

#3 Skygrunt

• PipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 10:14 AM

looks sweet man but it looks really broad and it does need to torso twist. Also I know your borrowing the legs but the mech looks a little front heavy for those legs. Despite my criticism i really do love this model good job. (especially the arms those looks sweet)

#4 Ialdabaoth

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 329 posts

Posted 03 August 2013 - 11:43 AM

Suggestion: Start with an upper center torso, rather than a single torso assembly. Then build a hip, then build a left and right torso.

#5 Bishop Steiner

ForumWarrior