Concerning Things I've Noticed So Far

20 replies to this topic

#1 RiotHero

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 311 posts
  • LocationDetroit

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:24 AM

As a newb I've noticed a few things. The first is that there really isn't any strategy involved in this game. For example every single time I've played the Volcano map the entire team just marches right up into the middle area. Is this game based on revolutionary war stand in a straight line and fight tactics? I'm always the only one flanking. In conquest it is just as bad. Half the team will rush to cap but, ONLY the nearest one. The rest just camps. If the whole team would go mid and to either side you could take two points at once then reconnect but, no one will ever flank.

The second thing is spotting is basically useless. I was excited about setting up my light mech for a scout role but, there is no point. I will flank their whole team, scout the biggest slowest most exposed guy from behind and missiles never arrive. Spotting is actually more distracting than useful (unless it is for your own info) because rarely do assists ever come from it and I get exposed trying to remain line of sight. I think part of it is that everyone uses auto-cannons, ppc, and medium lasers. I don't see hardly any lrm's not enough to make spotting worth it.

I guess, I'm just used to military style fps games where squads, tactics, flanking, rotating, and scouting are very important to a win. This is more like a big face to face smash'em up. After some time I'll get used to it though. It's definitely a change. Hopefully with the release it will be more competitive.

#2 Ewigan

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 1,168 posts
  • LocationGermany

Posted 11 September 2013 - 04:29 AM

YOu really have to play with others on Teamspeak mate.
Then all what you just said actually really matters.

without Teamspeak (or any other kind of voice comms) it tends to get a bit boring.