New Feature Idea: An Actual Economy

17 replies to this topic

#1 Prawfutt

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • LocationThe sulfuric beaches of Malibu

Posted 17 September 2013 - 01:43 PM

I am still fairly new to MWO, playing a little over a month, but I believe one of the biggest things lacking in game is an actual economy.

(Summary)
Early in the game there was a repair/equip function which I assume tracked spent ammo, armor, and component destruction. I suggest a rework of that feature to allow a winning team to salvage components and pieces from the losing team. A "Loot" type system would greatly appeal to the RPG gamers out there. It would also allow you to introduce salvaged mechs. which could be an alternative to the cbill grind (and the cbill nerf which has so many people angry about). And lastly it could lead to a "black market" which could function as an auction house for parts and pieces sold between players.

(Full Idea)
1: SALVAGE
First off remove the Cbill salvage. Replace it with a Salvage Rights system that is tied to match score. Something like 25 match score = 1 Right, 75 Match score = 2 Rights, 110+ MS = 3 Rights.

At the end of the match, the winning team gets to spend whatever salvage rights they have earned on "looting" the enemy teams mechs. Each mechwarrior is only able to "loot" a mech that he helped to kill and only the components that are NOT destroyed are lootable.

Example: I help to kill a Jenner7-F who dies due to loss of both legs, and a Catapult A1 who died when his XL was destroyed from Left Torso destroyed. After winning the match I had a match score of 31 which results in 1 Salvage Right. I get to choose between the 7-F, and the A1. I choose the 7-F and then the game randomly generates 1 non destroyed component for me to salvage.

Quality of Salvage: Universal, Chassis/Variant specific, Rare pieces, and Premium Salvage.
Universal weight class pieces would be "common" loot and consist of things like