Turning Your Commando Into A Stud

49 replies to this topic

#1 Name112297

• PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 October 2013 - 12:25 PM

The Commando is primarily a striker/scout mech. When I was a new pilot I chose the COM-1B because it was the cheapest and I wanted energy based weapons. As I gained experience, and C-Bills, I began playing around with the 1B, as well as purchasing and "tuning" the 2D and 3A. All have their plus sides and ways of using them. Sadly I have not used the 1D, however I can give advice based on its load-out options.

#2 Name112297

• PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 October 2013 - 12:34 PM

The COM-1B is a nice enough light 'mech. 3 energy hard-points and 1 (2) missile hard-point. I found that keeping the large laser and medium laser is very nice even though you shouldn't use this variant, or any, as long range 'mechs. I found the SRM 2 to be pointless and scrapped it for an AMS with 1 ton of ammo freeing up some space for a small laser in the third hard-point. Now you shouldn't need an AMS on a light 'mech but if your running a protection job it could be nice if your teammate doesn't have one. Although there are better things you could do with that ton and a half and I welcome your input on this variant. As far as normal equipment goes XL 195 engine in all your variants and definitely double heat sinks on this as it generates a bit of heat with three lasers. Endo-steel infrastructure opens up enough space to give it a nice armor boost which can be the normal standard armor. (I found that ferro armor isn't that useful and just takes up more slots. This is the load-out I use on my COM-1B feel free to play around with the layout http://mwo.smurfy-ne...ab5bc76f8dde31c

Edited by Arn Cronkar, 07 October 2013 - 12:37 PM.

#3 Name112297

• PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 07 October 2013 - 12:51 PM