Stalker For Missile Boat 5S Or 5M?

17 replies to this topic

#1 Fuko ibuki

Rookie

• Survivor
  • 3 posts

Posted 03 June 2013 - 07:30 PM

I'm new in this game and I would like to know which is the better mech, the stalker 5S or 5M for a Missile Boat build. Thanks!

#2 Goose

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant
  • 3,463 posts
  • Twitch: Link
  • LocationThat flattop, up the well, overhead

Posted 03 June 2013 - 10:48 PM

I … Don't get along with my 5S, but I feel I pick right with it: The XL frees up needed tonnage for four 15-racks.

I also like the stereo AMS thing, for the counter-battery fire …

#3 PPO Kuro

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 300 posts
  • LocationThe Netherlands

Posted 04 June 2013 - 01:25 AM

Look at http://mwo.smurfy-net.de/ scroll down to Stalkers. There you can see the layout of the mech and how many missles will be launch when firing. For example: 1 M (10) means 1 missle weapon port with 10 launcher tubes.

The 5M has 5 Missile slots, 2 in left torso, but has only 7 tubs. That's because the standard build has a NARC in the left torso. It also has a center torso energy mount. So this means when using STD engine you can still shoot stuff. The 5S has the problem that when you lose one side of your mech it's down 50% in offensive power.

Reason I sometimes use XL engine in this Mech, because I still have the opinion that when you lose one of your side your dead very quick after that anyways, so I rather take more firepower and potentially die faster. Upside, it has 2 AMS.

This can be fun when used with a group of AMS carrying mechs. What is best is totally up to you. Personally I like the 5M more and that's only because it has a central energy slot.

Here are some build I use or planning to. I don't really use LRM boats Stalker build because I think it limits your tactical role a lot. When you have someone close to you like I said before, your dogmeat.